Tiling Blocks

The latest toy I’ve made out of Corian is tiling blocks:


So far I’ve made squares, half-square right triangles, equilateral triangles, parallelograms, and 3 sizes of rectangles. They all fit together, with all their sides (with the exception of the hypotenuse of the right triangle) being equal or multiples of each other.


If you really want, you can treat them like normal blocks and play with them in 3D space as well:


The big problem with them is that since we’re giving them to the kids for Christmas, I’m not allowed to share this exciting new toy with them yet, which is absolutely horrible. Woe is me.

Published in: on 6 October, 2009 at 12:36 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://portersworkshop.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/tiling-blocks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OoooOOOOooooh. Those are gorgeous! I especially love the contrast with the blues, grays and blacks. Niiiice. Sorry you can’t show the kids – torture, I know! I have some Playmobil in my closet that I’m just DYING to give them, and I don’t even have the pride of making it!

  2. So awesome. Even I enjoyed playing with them!

  3. i want some 😀


Leave a Reply

