Cutting Boards

Now that I have the materials required to polish Corian, I took some of my larger pieces and made some cutting boards for our kitchen.


Published in: on 16 October, 2009 at 10:16 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://portersworkshop.wordpress.com/2009/10/16/cutting-boards-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Those look really nice. I like small cutting boards, since often I’m only cutting up one tomato or one onion. I hate having to wash a whole big board for one vegetable, so I usually just use a tupperware lid instead (to my wife’s chagrin).

  2. Big cutting boards will be nice for us because we’re still living with 1950s-era tile countertops.

  3. Those really do look cool. I’ve never really dealt with Corian beforeā€”is it soft enough not to dull a knife blade too much?

  4. Opnions on that are mixed. It’s harder than most cutting boards, so hard chopping would probably dull it faster normal.

  5. My dad made Corian countertops for a living, and all sorts of stuff from the scraps. The only cutting boards we ever had were Corian, and they were the eternal wedding gift for every wedding we were ever invited to. Now that my dad’s shop has been closed and I’ve been living on my own, I’ve had to use other cutting boards like the rest of the world. I even had to go buy one at Target the other day. It was most distressing. They were all porous. How on earth can you feel comfortable using a porous cutting board? I finally bought a glass one, but it’s just not the same.


Leave a Reply

