That’s not a knife…

…but it’s getting there.


I don’t know how many times I read through the book Step-By-Step Knifemaking when I was a teen. I even “made” a couple of knives buy buying pre-made blades and then affixing handles onto them.

Then a couple of weeks ago, my dad showed me this video which shows how to make a simple knife using extremely simple methods. I decided that I needed to finally give it a go.

So, yesterday I passed by a used tool store and bought some old files, just like are used in the video. Last night I discovered that, yes, our wood-burning stove gets hot enough to anneal steel, and I spent a good part of today shaping the blade to what you see here.

The next step is to finish gathering all the parts for my brake drum forge so that I can harden this knife. When that’s done, I’ll put a handle on it.

Published in: on 29 November, 2009 at 2:32 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://portersworkshop.wordpress.com/2009/11/29/thats-not-a-knife/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

