It’s Grrrrate!

Last year I busted in the back window of my pickup while picking up a load of firewood. Ever since, I’ve been really nervous whenever I’ve loaded anything like that, often coming back with less than a full load instead of risking my window again.

So I needed a grate to protect it. I went down to the local metal recycler and go some old metal railing and some expanded metal grating. I cut it to size, painted it, and attached it to my lumber rack.

I kinda felt like I was in an episode of The A-Team, tankifying up my vehicle for the big battle at the end of the episode.


Published in: on 12 December, 2009 at 2:37 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://portersworkshop.wordpress.com/2009/12/12/its-grate/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s awesome. Were you humming the theme music while you did it? (: I’m just glad that it didn’t bust through the glass and into your head – that could have been bad!

  2. I’m totally humming it now.

    By the way, about 10 years ago I spent a day cutting about 10 cord of wood with Uncle Jerry. It was the day after Thanksgiving and two days after I had my wisdom teeth out, but he was still a harsh task master. Smart move on the grate, though. I’ve almost busted more than one window that way.


Leave a Reply

