Marble Machine

What does it do? It doesn’t do anything. That’s the beauty of it.

This was a relatively short project, but I had more fun with it than with any other this Christmas season.

It’s pointless, mechanical, and mesmerizing.

It has been named The Marble-a-gig by my son, who received it as a gift.


Published in: on 3 January, 2010 at 2:47 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://portersworkshop.wordpress.com/2010/01/03/marble-machine-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Okay, we all love it and want our own. That’s amazing!!! Did you come up with the design on your own?

  2. No. I blatantly copied the idea from somewhere else. šŸ™‚

  3. Love it! I’ve always been fascinated with perpetual marble machines.

  4. Best. Project. Ever. I seriously love it. It reminds me of those battery-run stair-slide toys I used to see in Kay-Bee toys at the mall when I was little. They would have penguins climbing the stairs and sliding down. Pointless, really, but somehow awesome. And this is even cooler because you made it, it doesn’t require batteries, and it’s probably a lot sturdier too. Maker WIN.

  5. This is fantastic! Any kid would be delighted to receive this for Christmas or a birthday, I’m sure.

    Where did you find the plans?


Leave a Reply

