The New Ball and Chain

Lately I’ve been playing around with whittling, and with all the spare time available during the holiday weekend, I had many hours available.

The first thing that I made were some willow-bark whistle. Unfortunately, I don’t have any of those to photograph, because I gave them all away. None of them even made it home.

Next, here are some silly little wooden knives. My kids think these are fantastic. Again, these are made from willow branches:


These projects were fun enough that I decided to try my hand at some of the classic whittling projects: a linked chain and a ball trapped in a box. Both of these were carved from a fir 2×4.


Published in: on 5 July, 2010 at 3:05 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://portersworkshop.wordpress.com/2010/07/05/the-new-ball-and-chain/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have *always* wanted to do the ball trapped in a box and a chain! So cool! You are doing some amazing stuff – where do you find the time?

  2. Independence Day weekend, baby!

    I’ve partially been learning whittling as a preparation for summer camp, where I’ll spend an entire week with nothing to do while Sanford works on his stuff.

  3. I love the ball and chain – fantastic! 😎

    Olly.

    • Why thank you. I’ve been fascinated with the idea of carving such a thing out of a single chunk of wood for a long time.

  4. WOW!! your woodworking is amazing! I have a 3 foot ball and chain hanging on my wall that my grandfather made. I’ve always wanted to try it. Someday i’ll get to it. Keep up the great work!

    -Jay


Leave a Reply

