Spoons!

From what I gather, there used to be a Welsh tradition of beaus who went out to sea to spend their time carving elaborate “love spoons” for their beloved.

Now, while I do have some Welsh ancestry, I mostly just think the spoons are neat. So I tried my hand at them.

The spoons are shown in the order I made them. The first one was made with someone else’s pattern, but the last three are my own patterns.

The woods used are cherry, basswood, cherry, and walnut. Although it doesn’t photograph as well, I think I like the walnut the best.

The first one I made just as a project to do while camping this last month. But I enjoyed it so much that I came back and made more. I’m already trying to figure out what I want my next one to look like.



Published in: on 19 August, 2010 at 8:59 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://portersworkshop.wordpress.com/2010/08/19/spoons/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Those are gorgeous!! I would love to have those hanging up in my kitchen. Very nice work Porter!


Leave a Reply

